The 2011 Kyoto Prize Workshops

“Materials Science and Engineering of Multi-component Systems and the Future Prospects”

John Werner Cahn

/  Materials Scientist

Advanced Technology

Materials Science and Engineering


11 /12 Sat

13:00 - 17:30

Place: Kyoto International Conference Center

Address:Takaragaike, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-0001 Japan



Opening Address and Introduction of Laureate Tisato Kajiyama
Laureate’s Lecture John Werner Cahn (Laureate in Advanced Technology)
“Stabilities and Spinodal Instabilities in Multi-component Systems”
Session I Chairperson: Sadamichi Maekawa (Member, Kyoto Prize Selection Committee; Director, Advanced Science Research Center, Japan Atomic Energy Agency)
Lecture Tetsuo Mohri (Professor, Graduate School of Engineering, Hokkaido University)
“Theoretical and Computational Materials Science originated from Spinodal Theory”
Session II Chairperson: Koichi Kitazawa (Member, Kyoto Prize Committee; President, Japan Science and Technology Agency)
Lecture Kazunobu Tanaka (Principal Fellow, Japan Science and Technology Agency)
“Critical Issues of Materials Science for the 21st Century
Lecture Teruo Kishi (Advisor, National Institute for Materials Science)
“The Education of Material Sciences at Universities and Its Future Research”
Panel Discussion “Future Direction for Materials Science and Engineering”
Moderator Koichi Kitazawa
Panelists John Werner Cahn
Teruo Kishi
Kazunobu Tanaka
Sadamichi Maekawa
Tetsuo Mohri


John Werner Cahn

Materials Scientist

Dr. John W. Cahn developed the theory of spinodal decomposition in alloy materials by incorporating the strain energy term into the free energy of the alloy system. It has made it possible to predict the optimal microstructures of alloy materials and to maximize their functions. The theory has led to the establishment of a design guideline for the development of alloy materials and contributed to the progress of both materials science and materials industry.


Related information

Saturday, November 12, 2011
Kyoto International Conference Center
Tisato Kajiyama (Chairman, Kyoto Prize Committee; President, Fukuoka Women’s University), Masanori Murakami (Chairman, Kyoto Prize Selection Committee; Vice Chancellor, The Ritsumeikan Trust),Hiroyuki Sakaki (Member, Kyoto Prize Selection Committee; President, Toyota Technological Institute)
Masanori Murakami
Organized by Inamori Foundation
Supported by Kyoto Prefectural Government, Kyoto City Government, NHK
With the cooperation of The Japanese Society of Applied Physics, The Japanese Institute of Light Metals, The Society of Polymer Science, Japan, The Chemical Society of Japan, The Japan Institute of Metals, The Iron and Steel Institute of Japan, The Physical Society of Japan