The 2021 Holberg Prize is awarded to Dr. Martha Craven Nussbaum!

On March 5, 2021, Dr. Martha Craven Nussbaum , the 2016 Kyoto Prize laureate in Arts and Philosophy, was selected as the recipient of the Holberg Prize which honors scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the humanities, social sciences, law or theology. Many congratulations on this prestigious recognition!

Dr. Nussbaum introduced the notion of incorporating human capabilities (what each person is able to do or be) into the criteria for social justice, beyond the conventional theory of equality based on a social contract among rational individuals. She established a new theory of justice that ensures the inclusion of the weak and marginalized, who are deprived of opportunities to develop their capabilities in society, and has proposed ways to apply this theory in the real world.

The Holberg Prize is a Norwegian international prize established in 2003. Dr. Jürgen Habermas , the 2004 Kyoto Prize laureate in Arts and Philosophy, also received the Prize in 2005. This year’s award ceremony will take place at the University of Bergen on June 9.

*The photo is of Dr. Nussbaum during the Kyoto Prize Week in 2016.

Kyoto Prize laureate: Dr. Martha Craven Nussbaum
The Holberg Prize | Official Website (English)