Zakir HussainTabla PlayerArts and Philosophy

Image of the research

What is the creativity
of tabla performance?

A Highly Innovative and Creative Artist who Opened up the New Musical Possibilities of the Tabla, a Traditional Indian Percussion Instrument

Zakir Hussain/ Tabla Player

A leading tabla player of Hindustani music, Zakir Hussain transcended the framework of traditional Indian music and opened up a new world of music by collaborating with musicians of various genres from around the world. With his superb technique, engaging performances, and rich creativity, he made a tremendous impact on musicians worldwide.


  • #Tabla
  • #North Indian Classical Music
  • #World Music


Commemorative Lecture & Performance

Commemorative Lecture and Performance

The commemorative lecture and performance is of Zakir Hussain's lecture on tabla and the north Indian classical music and his performance with two other musicians, Abbos Kosimov and Pezhham Akhavass.

Zakir Hussain

Zakir Hussain, Tabla
Abbos Kosimov, Doyra
Pezhham Akhavass, Tombak

It's a creative process that is exciting and has created new possibilities of music to emerge, artists to connect, interact, and find a way to be able to be valid not only in their part of the world, but globally.
Zakir Hussain

Zakir Hussain/ Tabla Player


  • 1951Born in Mumbai, India
  • 1970Performed his first U.S. concert at the Fillmore East in New York City with Ravi Shankar
  • 1974Formed Shakti, the landmark collaboration with John McLaughlin
  • 1987Released his first solo album, Making Music
  • 1991Joined the creation of Planet Drum, the first recording to win a Grammy Award for the Best World Music Album
  • 1999Formed Tabla Beat Science with Bill Laswell
  • 2007Chosen to compose an anthem to celebrate India’s 60th year of independence by the government of India
  • 2008–2009Chosen to present his work at Carnegie Hall’s Perspectives Series
  • 2011Concerto for Four Soloists commissioned by National Symphony Orchestra
  • 2014Commissioned to compose first-ever tabla concerto by Symphony Orchestra of India (premiered in 2015)
Selected Works
  • 1988Padma Shri
  • 1991Sangeet Natak Akademi Award
  • 1999NEA National Heritage Fellow
  • 2002Padma Bhushan/span>
  • 2009Best Contemporary World Music Album, the 51st Annual Grammy Awards
  • 2017SFJAZZ Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2019Fellowship of Sangeet Natak Akademi
Selected Discography
  • 1976年Shakti with John McLaughlin (Shakti), Columbia
  • 1987年Making Music, ECM Records
  • 1991年Planet Drum (Mickey Hart), Rykodisc
  • 1999年Remember Shakti (Remember Shakti), Verve Records
  • 2006年Sangam (Charles Lloyd), ECM Records
  • 2007年Global Drum Project (Mickey Hart, Zakir Hussain, Sikiru Adepoju, and Giovanni Hidalgo), Shout! Factory
  • 2009年The Melody of Rhythm (Béla Fleck, Zakir Hussain, and Edgar Meyer), E1 Entertainment
  • 2019年Good Hope (Dave Holland, Zakir Hussain, Chris Potter), Edition Records

Profile is at the time of the award.

Kyoto Prize website