The 2001 Kyoto Prize Workshops

Semiconductor Laser - Continuous Operation and Progress for the Future -

Zhores Ivanovich Alferov

/  Physicist

Advanced Technology



11 /12 Mon

13:00 -17:30

Place: Kyoto International Conference Center

Address:Takaragaike, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-0001 Japan



Opening Kenichi Iga
Address Toyomi Inamori, Managing Director, The Inamori Foundation
Address Yasuharu Suematsu, Chairman of the Kyoto Prize Committee; Director General, National Institute of Informatics
Laureate Lecture Izuo Hayashi – Laureate in Advanced Technology
“Succeeding in CW Oscillation of Semiconductor Lasers and Overcoming the Difficulties in Realization of Its Practical Usage”
Laureate Lecture Morton B. Panish – Laureate in Advanced Technology
“X – Ray Characterization of Superlattices, and Devices Exploiting Intersubband Transitions in Quantum Wells”
Laureate Lecture Zhores Ivanovich Alferov – Laureate in Advanced Technology
“Double Heterostructure Lasers: Past, Present and Future”
Panel Discussion Co – Moderators:
Michiharu Nakamura, Chairman of the Kyoto Prize Screening Committee; Corporate Officer, President, Research and Development Group, Hitachi, Ltd.
Kenichi Iga
Zhores Ivanovich Alferov
Izuo Hayashi
Morton B. Panish
Yasuharu Suematsu
Isamu Akasaki, Professor, High-Tech Research Center, Meijo University
Tetsuhiko Ikegami, Member of the Kyoto Prize Committee; President, The University of Aizu
Closing Kenichi Iga


Zhores Ivanovich Alferov


Dr. Alferov, Dr. Hayashi and Dr. Panish have made pioneering contributions to the development of optoelectronics as we know it today with the achievement of continuous wave operation of semiconductor lasers at room temperature. They have thus paved the way for commercial use of electronic devices that play an essential role in the building of information infrastructures supporting the worldwide IT revolution.


Related information

Monday, November 12, 2001
Kyoto International Conference Center
Coordinator & Moderator
Kenichi Iga, Member of the Kyoto Prize Screening Committee; Executive Director, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science
Inamori Foundation
Kyoto Prefectural Government, Kyoto City Government, NHK
With the cooperation
IEICE/Electronic Society, The Japan Society of Applied Physics, IEEE/LEOS Japan Chapter, Optoelectronic Industry and Technology Development Association, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science